:: Concert Reviews ::


Name: Mel Howard
Reviewing:October 13, 2000 in Seattle, WA @ The Mercer Arena

My brother and I arrived there at about 6:45 and got in about 5 minutes later, taking some seats in the back to rest before the show started. I later decided to rest all through the show until the 'tones came on so I could go nuts for them. Taproot was great, I was happy to see a band I like doing such a good job performing live. Incubus was probably my least fav to watch, actually. They didn't really move around the stage all that much, which I love to see when a band performs live. Finally, after Incubus was done, I ran down to see just how close I could get to the stage and ended up being about 5 feet from the stage on the left hand side. I somehow figured, from seeing the 'tones before, that Chino would probably be on the left hand side the most, which he was. A huge red sheet with the white pony and a white star dropped down, followed by many fans screaming. Another awesome thing was right after Incubus ended their set, Weezer's "Pinkerton" album came on and was p! layed until the 'tones were ready to go on. About 5 minutes after the red sheet was dropped down, the lights were dimmed and the fans started screaming. All the guys came out and started right into "Korea", which was awesome live. I think the highlight of the night, song wise, was hearing Dai the Flu, Digital Bath, Teenager, and Mascara live. All of the songs were played so well. The overall highlight of the night, in my opinion was when Chino came over, during "7 Words" the last song of the Encore, and stood ontop of huge amps while singing to us. Finally, he got to the section of the song "Shutup you don't know me...". He obviously wanted us to repeat after him, which I figured out and yelled it back to him very loudly while it was very quiet to which he looked directly at me and yelled "Speak fast you don't know me", to which I yelled the same thing, as the rest of the crowd did for they had finally caught on. Chino, after about 2-3 minutes of this back and forth, screamed "squeal like a pig..." and with that, jumped into the crowd. Unfortunately I wasn't able to help him back to the stage since everyone rushed to him. Later, when he was back on center stage, I noticed his shirt had been ripped, which he didn't seem to mind and said he'd see us soon. If you've never seen the 'tones, GO SEE THEM. Any questions, just email me..

Name: Ryan
Reviewing:Deftones 10/15/00 Salem,OR

One hell of a show! Taproot was pretty good, but they might have just played their CD, because it was exactly the same. They didn't do anything different or special. Incubus had a lot of fans, but personally; I thought they sucked ass. Anyway deftones tore shit up! Chino's singing and screaming were as beautiful as ever! Here is the set list:
1. Korea (kick ass opening)
2. Feiticiera
3. Change
4. Root
5. My own summer
6. Lifter
7. Digital Bath
8. Teenager (first time I've heard it live)
9. Mascara
10.Around the fur
11.Dia the flu
12.Back to school
13.Head up
Chino said "Much respect.Good night" and the band left Encore:
Be quiet and drive
Birthmark (Awesome!)
7 words
This was my 5th Deftones show, and not the last by far.

Name: matt
Reviewing:seattle mercer arena show 10/13/00

fucking rad. taproot kicked ass. they had a short set but i expected it but they played as hard as they could to get everyone moving and most of the people in the audience were moving with them even if they haven't heard them. then they came and sat down in front of us to watch deftones do their thing. he also asked me where the nearest dominos was. and of course deftones put on the greatest show. this was my third time seeing them and each time is better than the last. fucking everyone was on the same page as them. beautiful.

Name: SCOTT
Reviewing:PHOENIX, AZ AUG 11 2000

LET ME JUST START OFF BY SAYING THAT THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO BETTER BAND IN THE WORLD THAN DEFTONES. I GET SICK OF HEARING PEOPLE SAY THAT THEY'RE ONE OF THE BEST BANDS IN THE WORLD. SORRY. JUST HAD TO GET THAT OFF MY CHEST. ANYWAYS, THE DAY STARTED OFF KIND OF LAME, AS MY CAR OVERHEATED IN THE HOT ARIZONA SUN, MAKING EVERYONE KIND OF CRANKY. THE DAY GOT MUCH BETTER THOUGH WHEN WE GOT BACK TO MY FRIEND CLARISSA'S HOUSE, AS OUR FRIENDS MATT, TINA, AND SCOTT ALL ARRIVED FROM SACRAMENTO IN THEIR RENTAL VAN. WE CHILLED FOR A LITTLE BIT, INHALED SOME RATHER PINY SUBSTANCE, AND AT ABOUT 3:00, IT WAS OFF TO THE CONCERT VENUE. CELEBRITY THEATRE (BEST PLACE TO HAVE AN INTIMATE CONCERT). GET THERE AT ABOUT 4:00 AFTER BATTLING SOME RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, AND MEET UP WITH OUR FRIEND JUAN, WHO WORKS ON DEFTONES CREW, AND GIVES US OUR V.I.P. PASSES. WE GET INTO THE PLACE BEFORE EVERYONE, SO OF COURSE WE GET OUR PICK OF SEATS, WHICH TURN OUT TO BE THE BEST SEATS IN THE HOUSE. THE WHOLE V! ENUE IS IN A CIRCULAR SHAPE, WITH NO SEAT MORE THAN 75 FT FROM THE STAGE, WHICH SLOWLY ROTATES. GLASSJAW WAS AWESOME. THEY'RE A VERY GOOD BAND, AND EVEN BETTER LIVE, SO I RECOMMEND CHECKING THEM OUT, IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY. TIME FOR THE BOYS TO COME OUT. THEY COME OUT SINGLE FILE ON THE WALKWAY, AND BREAK RIGHT INTO BQAD. THE SHOW WAS AMAZING, AND CHINO WAS ACTING HELLA CRAZY ALL NIGHT. EVERY TIME HE WOULD GO IN THE CROWD, HE WOULD LOSE SOMETHING. HE MADE ONE REMARK DURING THE SHOW AFTER LOSING HIS SECOND SHOE, SAYING "THAT'S ALL RIGHT BECAUSE I'M THE LEAD SINGER OF THE DEFTONES, AND I'M RICH." HE WENT ON TO TAUNT GLASSJAW BY SAYING THAT "YOU'RE GLASSJAW, AND YOU'RE POOR, CAUSE YOU CAN'T SELL RECORDS." THAT WAS HILARIOUS. ALL IN ALL, I CAN HONESTLY SAY THAT THIS WAS THE BEST DEFTONES CONCERT I HAVE EVER BEEN TO, AND THAT'S SAYING A LOT, SINCE THIS WAS MY TENTH TIME SEEING THEM.

Name: Lesa Pence
Reviewing:Deftones at the Palladium in Hollywood, CA

http://unearthed.com/reviews/review_s_0064.shtml

Name: Brian Dickens
Reviewing:concert

the deftones are by the far the best band i have ever seen live. chino has the greatest stage presence of any lead singer. i have seen them eleven times. the last time i saw them was on sunday in portland, they played a thirteen song set. completely breathtaking. words don't describe the deftones. soon as they walk on stage i get goose bumps and think i am going to cry. they opened with be quiet and drive far and ended with head-up. i was a little insulted by the crowd because most of the people didn't know the old songs, they were there for change. if you don't know 7-words you are not a true deftones fan in my book or my favorite minus blindfold. i don't know how they do it, the band always leaves my hanging and wanting more. as of right now i am having deftones withdrawls, last weekend i saw them twice once in vancouver and the other in portland, in vancouver my friends and me met chi from the deftones. when i shook his hand i tried to remain pretty cool and did so. after he left i looked at my friends and said why the hell didn't we tell them we revolve our life around the deftones. maybe i will have a second chance to meet him agian.
Name: Charles
Reviewing:The Warfield Show 08/08/2000

Yeah, it's 2:30 and I still can't hear anything. A sure sign the concert was awesome ;) To recap the night:
I get home from work and I am literally bouncing up and down around the house. I run to the supermarket to pick up a little disposable camera and then bounce over to my buddy Steve's house. One of his other buds from work joins us, and we take off about 6:30. For once carpool lanes paid off as we flew past traffic over the Bay Bridge. Of course, we are blasting some White Pony on the way over.
We arrive there at about 7:20 (doors open at 8, show starts at 9). Fortunately, Steve's little brother and his friends were already in line, so when the doors finally do open, we are one of the first few people in the Warfield. I got the camera in no problem, those little Kodak things rule. We camp out right at this first raised area, leaning up against a counter. Glassjaw comes on at 9. Eh. They have some potential, but they do too much rock star posturing instead of sticking to the songs. The end was very weird too; the singer was strangling himself with the mic cord and shouting out all these obscenities. Very, very odd.
Some Faith No More comes over the loud speaker and the whole place picks up this buzz. Around 10:15, the lights go out and the place goes nuts. Before I forget, here are the songs they played, close to the order:
Be Quiet and Drive My Own Summer Bored Root Feitericia Change Korea MX Mascara Around The Fur Digital Bath Lotion 7 Words Engine #9 **Encore** To Have and To Hold Headup
Highlights: Right before Feitericia, Chino goes, "Now it's time to enter the White Pony" and they bust off those three right in a row. Before Lotion, Chi gave a shout out to everyone in San Fran and dedicated the song to the fans. Chino easily spent half of 4 or 5 songs in the crowd. Digital Bath sounded fucking amazing! My God, it was scary good. At one point, Chino looks at Abe and goes, "Dude, you're in a real punk mood tonight. Let's hear some Nor Cal thrash," and they go off on some crazy shit for a mintue. When he came out of the crowd from Lotion, the first couple of buttons on his shirt were ripped, and Chino goes "Are you trying to make me look like Jack? That's some Three's Company shit right there!" Then he goes off about the scenario with two chicks and a dude, and asks "How many of y'all ever done that?" A few people raise their hands, and he points to this dude in the front row and says, "get up here you little pimp!" This kid was 14, and Chino jokes around with him. They bust into 7 words and he told the kid to do a stage dive. The kid was scared, though, and just danced around on stage. In the middle of 7 Words, Stef just stops playing. He looks at Abe, and then they bust out Say It Ain't So! Then, during Engine #9, he starting rapping Wicked.
We finally went down to the floor for the encore. Steve and I did a little crowd surfing, and I was like three people back for Headup. Flat out one of the best shows I've ever seen. Deftones proved they are one of the best bands today. Chino hit every note, Stef was ripping shit up, and Abe and Chi were hella tight. It's a shame the papers will cover the Limp Bizkit concert instead. Oh well, we know what's up!


Name: Bill Roemer
Reviewing:The Warfield Show 08/08/2000

Last night was AWESOME! The Deftones blew up another venue in the Bay Area (The Warfield). They played a very energetic set that included tracks from the albums "Adrenaline", "Around the Fur", and of course the newly released "White Pony". They even did a cover of Weezer's "Say it ain't so" that blew the roof off. "Wicked" was another awesome rare live performance. But no one could even think about sitting still when they performed the one and only "7 words". I've seen the Deftones about a dozen times since '96, and last night was definitely the best show ever. Being a long time Deftones fan you couldn't of asked for a better set. Deftones play next week in their hometown Sacto. Make sure you guys make it to that show. I'm sure we're in for a treat. later, Bill Roemer
Name: Brandon Liss
Reviewing:Deftones @ Hollywood Palladium (w/ Glassjaw opening) 8/10/00

deftones went on right before korn from 6:40 to 7:40. they played 13 songs suprisingly a lot for only an hour show. in the beginning their equipment got fucked up, so they did like 2 sound checks and linus was helping out the sound check guys. when they were finished the deftones humbly walked out on stage. chino picked up his microphone and did his thing. they played be quiet and drive, my own summer, to have and to hold, change, digital bath, lotion, mascara, around the fur, bored, korea, 2 verses of 7 words, then cut off into a verse of say it aint so, then finished up 7 words. they rocked the shit out of the crowd when they finished with head up. that show was so fucking inspiring. it was my first and will definately not be my last. deftones are my favorite band and always will be. they speak to me in a way no one else can. chino came out into the crowd 5 times, 2 times to the side i was on. 1 time i was about 10 feet away, the second time i was 2 to 3 feet away from him! he looked into my eyes twice! i have never felt so awesome in my entire life as i did when he lookd at me. deftones are fucking awesome! that's it. there's nothing else.... fucking awesome
Name: Jordan
Reviewing:deftones live shows 7/14 and 7/15/00 (Roch.,NY and Buff.,NY)

They began the show with Feiteciera...7 Words was interrupted by Chino after he noticed that a large mass of fans was uncontrollably being trampled by their own imbalance-basically everyone was tripping over their own two feet and it caused a domino effect-they went into "Say It Aint So", finished it, and then continued with the remainder of 7 Words...I was waiting for them to play "Elite", but it didn't happen...oh well, the next day was even better--the show was outside(which I didn't know until I arrived)and their was so much energy...best weekend ever...
Name: Chica
Reviewing:Concert on June 28th w/Glassjaw

I know this is a lill late, but I just found this site and I wanted to post about the concert. It was in Omaha, NE at the Sokol Auditoriun.I don't remember the set list, or else I would post those. Glassjaw came out and it was cool, everyone sorta got picked up for the concert. I'd never heard em before, and I thought they were hella cool. After the little intrmission thingy, Deftones came out everyone went off. I was down in the pit, right in front of the stage and touch Lord Chino myself. He was climbing up the amps and going all over the stage so that everyone could see him. They played all muh favorite songs, including Mascara which is muh very favorite. It was cool when they played My Own Summer, cuz my name is Summer and my friend was screeming at Chino 'This gurl's name is Summer! She worships you!. That was cool. The pit was awesome! The Sokol is small, so it was like you were right up on the stage. I think touching Lord Chino was the best part for me. It was fucking awesome cuz we were standing right infront of him and he came and stood on the baracade right in front of me. Mascara was awesome. I love that song, and after seeing it live, it is that much better.
Name: Geoff
Reviewing:Deftones / GlassJaw in Rochester, Ny 7/14/00

ok, well i had been waiting for this night for the longest time, and before i knew it, it was here. After waiting in line for 30 minutes to get in the building, we moved up to the front of the crowd for glassjaw in attempts to get a good spot for deftones. The place the show was being held, had never had any other shows there before. All of our main venues were assumed to be too small for deftones, and they were right, so they were put into a hockey rink. GlassJaw took the stage, sounding very heavy in their intro, but i was standing in front of the bass amp, and couldnt hear anything but bass and drums. I hate to give a bad review, but a lot of people were dissapointed in GlassJaw, and were yelling "deftones" between songs. Glassjaw was only on for around 30 minutes, and when they were done, the crowd for some dumb reason decided to pack in and move forward even more. Then some idiots kept pushing each other which had a chain effect in moving the whole crowd. This would be ok if they didnt do it for the half hour it took to get the stage ready for deftones. Then the lights went down, chi took the stage followed by stephen abe then last chino. They wasted no time in starting Feiticiera as an opening song. I was amazed by the amount of people singing along during the whole show. Chino was off the stage in a matter of seconds hanging right over me in the crowd, everyone packed in so tight i couldnt breathe, but it was jsut such a relief that this guy, a hero to me was hanging over me. He grabbed my hand and held onto it for the rest of the chorus then got back onstage. I cant remember the set, but i do know that half way through 7 words, they broke into wicked, then paused and asked us to help them sing "say it aint so" by weezer. I guess this was because between songs, a group of people were chanting "weezer". Im not going to go and reveiw every song, cause this review is kinda long to begin with. But no one even thought of leaving when the deftones left the stage, and they came out doing a double encore, consisting of be quiet and drive, and last head up. They ended the show by chi saying "rochester ny, you are one of the craziest cities in the US" and chino saying "you were great rochester, but you owe me a pair of shoes" someone stole his shoes when he was crowd surfing, watch for them on ebay. Um, thats about all, other than the backdrop they had. It was a huge black backdrop with tiny white lights all over it, making a star effect, and later in the set, forming the outline of the white pony, and the new digital looking logo. Also, during the show they had huge spotlights with filters of the sphere/globe thats been on their webpage, stickers etc since white pony came out. Thats about all, it was an amzing show, i had been dissapointed in live recordings, but these guys were the best band ive ever heard live.
Name: Chris Diaz
Reviewing:Deftones/Glassjaw show June 24th in Worcester Mass at the Palladium

I flew up to Boston just to go to the in store signing and then the show. my friend and i woke up at 4:00am then left at 4:15am it's about a 45 min drive from boston to worcester we got there at 5:00am and waited for 10 hrs we were first in line. The deftones representatives there interviewed us and we told them we flew up from West Palm Beach , FL just for the signing and the show and they gave us props for that I got a awsome picture w/ chino and when they let the people in they let Me and my friend Tom in alone for 5 min with the band and they told them how far we came for the show. There recation was like Wow ur some dedicated fans and were like yes we are. Chi asked us if we had any requests we asked them to play and he's like ok we'll play root for ya. After that we went to the Palladium at 4:00pm and waited 3 1/2 hrs for the doors. When they opened me and my friend Tom ran to get shirts and water then ran to the front of the barricade. At 8:50pm the lights went ! out for the deftones and they busted into BQAD and i just broke down into tears cause i was so happy. During the Middle of the set Chino Said " This next song is for our 2 fans who flew up from Fl just to see us play tonight" and then they played Root I was in total shock and so was my friend . Their show was the Best i have ever been to and a perfect venue to hold the show as well . I rate the show a 10 it was one of the best experiences i have ever had and i will never forget that night. so if ur waiting For the Tones to come to ur town Ur in for a special treat.
Name: E-Doc
Reviewing:Defrones @ The Worcester Palladium (June 24th)

WOW! What can I say about such a fucking great band like deftones? First off, the Palladium is one of my favorite venues to see a show at, it only holds 3000 people or so, and it used to be an old opera house, so its all cool and decorated and shit. There are 4 bars and a balcony level, as well. Deftones started the whole show off with Be Quiet and Drive/Damone, which was a fucking great mix. When they played Digital Bath I almost died, it's one of my favorite songs by far, and he hit the high notes PERFECTLY. During My Own Summer, the floor was fucking insane, pits were everywhere and people were jumping like crazy. They played the new shit off White Pony really well, and Chino was really into the crowd. Some girl crowd surfed up to the stage and kissed Chino on the cheek, and you could tell he loved it. Later in the night, during Knife Prty, Chino was on the side of the stage where I was, and I shook his hand and messed with his hair when he knelt down, fucking cool ! shit. They ended off with Engine No. 9 and Headup, which included a lot of audience participation. Everyone that still needs to see them, you're in for a fucking treat! Later...IvI@$$ GI\IoiI)?
Name: johnny
Reviewing:the concert in Worcester, MA

The Show in Worcester at the Palladium was fucking awesome. Chino gave me a high 5 during the beginning of 7 words it was fucking amazing I'm still in shock. The show was adrenaline pumped and totally fucking crazy...a great show and awesome selection of music.
Name: Fry
Reviewing:july 24th deftones in massachusetts,@ the palladium

the concert was the most violent, intense, most emotional show I have ever been too. The Deftones kicked it off with be quiet and drive and plaed shove it and change early in the set. Chino sang in the crowd with knife party and 7 words and one more song which i forget. Korea was my favorite new track they played. They wrapped up the show with engine no. 9 and headup and teenager was played at the VERY end but that doesent really count. Chino sang kinda in the crwod too at the end. Songs that i wanted them to play was: MX, elite, pink maggot. a chic tht was next to me saw the deftones 3 or 4 times live. she said most of the time they had trouble playing and kinda sucked but she said tonight was their best set EVER and one of the best concerts she has ever been too. they had an in store signing before too. incredible!
Name: Tomi Pekurinen
Reviewing:Concert!

Ok.Deftones arrived to Finland in 17th of June 2000, just when White Pony hit the stores in Finland.Before the show started, people were apeshit!Waiting to see the best band in the world.
The show was in Seinjoki, Finland. In festival called Provinssirock (ratm were there too). Anyway, I was so excited! It was their first time in Finland and my first time to see DEFTONES live!
After a long waiting,drunken :) stef jumped to stage followed by abe and chi. Then Chino came with big smile in his face. I knew it ,this was it!It felt amazing just to see 'em.Frank was mostly in the background smiling..I cannot describe the feelings i had during the show...When My own summer was ready to burst Chino was in the crowd giving high5s and he sang the whole song just floating in the sea of people and same vibe continued...
Set of the night:(it's not in right order 'cause i was soo happy and jumpin' around with my camera and singing that i can't quite remember it. But all the songs are here)
BQAD, Damone, Shove It To have and to hold, Change, Feiticeira, Bored, Root, Around The Fur, Digital Bath, Mascara, Lotion, Korea, Street carp, (encore:), Swords, Headup
The whole show was Festivals highlight. People were stucked in the same place or doing bodysurfing all the time. As usual deftones made so many people happy and after everybody shouted their lungs dry Deftones played 2 songs more: 7 words and Headup. At this point of the night the chaos was ready. Everybody went fucking mad!
After the show i could smell adrenaline what was all over the place...My heart was stomping many hours after they left the country
I remember Chino saiyng: "we love you, we'll come back". Ok for me :) Thanks Guys! I Love you
Name: d0wner
Reviewing:Petaluma concert at the phoniex on 5/25/00
Deftones recently played two shows at the Phoenix Theatre in Petaluma, CA to warm up for the White Pony tour, which I happened to be at. Will Haven opened on both nights, and played excellent but short half-hour sets. Deftones had long sets both nights, playing songs off all three albums. Here are the setlists:
phoenix 5.24
1. Be Quiet and Drive (far away)
2. Damone
3. My Own Summer (shove it)
4. To Have and to Hold
5. Change (in the house of flies)
6. Feiticeira
7. Bored
8. Root
9. Fireal
10. Around the Fur
11. Lotion
12. Digital Bath
13. Korea
14. Street Carp
15. Elite
16. Headup
17. The Boys Republic
The show the next night on 5.25 was the same minus Damone and The Boys Republic, and with Knife Party in place of Street Carp. Chino plays guitar on To Have and To Hold (the Depeche Mode cover), Change, Digital Bath and The Boys Republic. The new shit was great, especially the hard songs. Korea, Street Carp and Elite all in a row had massive pits brewing. I was also at the CD release thing in Santa Monica. The setlist then was only 8 songs, like a short version of the set above with Lifter in the place of other Adrenaline stuff. Overall the new stuff sounds great and you should catch this tour if at all possible.
peace
Name: Nick2k
Reviewing:the deftones show @ Petaluma's Phoenix Theater - May 25th, 2000

First the foreplay:
Sacto Jackets are $40. White Pony caps are $15. Red Pony shirts, the NEW grey shirt with the new logo, a baby doll & two other old items are all $23. The FREE stickers were all snatched up buy the fuckin' chics before & during the Will Haven set. I got there after they ended. =P
So you want to know what songs they played in order, do ya? Okay:
Be Quite And Drive
My Own Summer
To Have And To Hold
Change
Feiticeira
Bored
Root
Mascara (someone's fave song...)
Around The Fur (My fave!!!)
Lotion
Digital Bath
Korea
Knife Party
**insert five minutes of feedback and lots of people leaving**
ENCORE:
Elite
**the people that left are now running back...**
Headup
Passenger with Maynard ***I'm SO fuckin' joking about Passenger. Sorry. =)***
And that's it. Shows over. They played 'The Boys Republic' on the sound system. The ushers were assholes tonite. Go home. Good show...good show...Mmmm!
If you want more details on the show, check my site: http://members.aol.com/steaming79
This concert review is dedicated my boy Jeff and Andra... The show was not as fun without you guys there. Go NorCal music scene!!!
---Nick2k---
d r e d g
Name: Brian
Reviewing:Petaluma concert at the phoniex on 5/25/00
They are great live. They played tons of good songs from all 3 of their albums. I recommened if you have a chance to see them(no matter how small of one) you should see them. You definattly won't be wasting you money. They played for 1:10 minutes.

Name: Josh
Reviewing: Deftones at Smokeout 99 Oct 2nd

i seen three deftone shows and that was the best by far they played so dope at the smokeout they played a few new songs and the light show while they play was phat , chino sang dope. JOSH , whittier CA.
Name: Chris
Reviewing:Deftones show over a year ago in Toronto, NOvember 26, 1998, i think

This show had Quicksand and Snapcase opening. I was so very drunk, i remeber very little unfortunately except for Chino doing a flip off of a speaker into the crowd. WOW